2020 BIF Awards: ‘Saint Maud’ leading with 17 nominations

The official nominations list for the upcoming British Independent Film Awards is out. And horror movie Saint Maud leads with 17 nominations!

According to Hollywood ReporterSaint Maud, a psychological horror film from Rose Glass, has received 17 nominations. The 2020 BIF Awards list also includes other great works, but it looks one contender is sure to make a sweep!

The British Independent Film Awards will take place in February, after a delay due to COVID-19.

“Saint Maud” movie details

Speaking of the title with the highest nods, the Rose Glass directorial was released earlier this year in the UK. However, the pandemic prevented its arrival in the US in the last few months.

Saint Maud is leading in important categories like Best British Independent Film, Best Screenplay, and Best Director. It is also competing in sections like Best Actress for Morfydd Clark and Best Supporting Actress for Jennifer Ehle.

The psychological horror title tells the story of a nurse (Morfydd Clark). She becomes obsessed with saving the soul of her patient (Jennifer Ehle).

2020 BIF Awards complete nominations

Apart from the above-mentioned feature, the next big potential winner is Remi Weeks’ His House. This film tries to depict the real-life supernatural horrors of asylum seekers. Interestingly, it is closely behind Rose Glass’s film, with 16 nominations.

Here all the nominees of the 2020 BIF Awards:

British Independent Film

  • Calm With Horses
  • The Father
  • His House
  • Rocks
  • Saint Maud

Best Director

  • Sarah Gavron, Rocks (Associate Director Anu Henriques)
  • Rose Glass, Saint Maud
  • Nick Rowland, Calm With Horses
  • Remi Weekes, His House
  • Florian Zeller, The Father


  • Rose Glass, Saint Maud
  • Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson, Rocks
  • Bassam Tariq, Riz Ahmed, Mogul Mowgli
  • Remi Weekes, His House
  • Florian Zeller, Christopher Hampton, The Father

Best Actress

  • Bukky Bakray, Rocks
  • Morfydd Clark, Saint Maud
  • Clare Dunne, Herself
  • Wunmi Mosaku, His House
  • Andrea Riseborough, Luxor

Best Actor

  • Riz Ahmed, Mogul Mowgli
  • Ṣọpẹ́ Dìrísù, His House
  • Amir El-Masry, Limbo
  • Anthony Hopkins, The Father
  • Cosmo Jarvis, Calm With Horses

Supporting Actress

  • Niamh Algar, Calm With Horses
  • Kosar Ali, Rocks
  • Jennifer Ehle, Saint Maud
  • Ashley Madekwe, County Lines
  • Fiona Shaw, Kindred

Best Supporting Actor

  • Harris Dickinson, County Lines
  • Barry Keoghan, Calm With Horses
  • Alyy Khan, Mogul Mowgli
  • Merab Ninidze, The Courier
  • D’angelou Osei Kissiedu, Rocks

The Douglas Hickox Award (Debut Director)

  • Henry Blake, County Lines
  • Rose Glass, Saint Maud
  • Eva Riley, Perfect 10
  • Nick Rowland, Calm With Horses
  • Remi Weekes, His House

Breakthrough Producer

  • Douglas Cox, Host (Also Produced By Emily Gotto, Samuel Zimmerman)
  • Daniel Emmerson, Calm With Horses
  • Irune Gurtubai, Limbo (Also Produced By Angus Lamont)
  • Oliver Kassman, Saint Maud (Also Produced By Andrea Cornwell)
  • Edward King, Martin Gentles, His House (Also Produced By Aidan Elliott, Roy Lee, Arnon Milchan)

Debut Screenwriter

  • Riz Ahmed, Mogul Mowgli (Also Written By Bassam Tariq)
  • Rose Glass, Saint Maud
  • Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson Rocks
  • Joe Murtagh, Calm With Horses
  • Remi Weekes, His House

Most Promising Newcomer

  • Niamh Algar, Calm With Horses
  • Kosar Ali, Rocks
  • Bukky Bakray, Rocks
  • Frankie Box, Perfect 10
  • Conrad Khan, County Lines

Best Documentary

  • The Australian Dream
  • Being A Human Person
  • The Reason I Jump
  • Rising Phoenix
  • White Riot

The Raindance Discovery Award

  • Justine
  • Looted
  • One Man And His Shoes
  • Perfect 10
  • Rose: A Love Story

Best British Short Film

  • Filipiñana
  • The Forgotten C
  • The Long Goodbye
  • Mandem
  • Sudden Light

International Independent Film

  • Babyteeth
  • Les Misérables
  • Never Rarely Sometimes Always
  • Nomadland
  • Notturno

Best Casting

  • Shaheen Baig, Calm With Horses
  • Kharmel Cochrane, Saint Maud
  • Carmen Cuba, His House
  • Dan Jackson, Limbo
  • Lucy Pardee, Rocks


  • Nick Cooke, Limbo
  • Ben Fordesman, Saint Maud
  • Hélène Louvart, Rocks
  • Annika Summerson, Mogul Mowgli
  • Jo Willems, His House

Best Costume Design

  • Michele Clapton, The Secret Garden
  • Ruka Johnson, Rocks
  • Tina Kalivas, Saint Maud
  • Michael O’Connor, Ammonite
  • Charlotte Walter, Misbehaviour


  • Julia Bloch, His House
  • Yorgos Lamprinos, The Father
  • Maya Maffioli, Rocks
  • Brenna Rangott, Host
  • Mark Towns, Saint Maud

Best Effects

  • Agnes Asplund, Martin Malmqvist, Undergods
  • Scott Macintyre, Bariş Kareli, Kristyan Mallett, Saint Maud
  • Pedro Sabrosa, Stefano Pepin, His House

Makeup & Hair Design

  • Jacquetta Levon, Saint Maud
  • Sharon A Martin, His House
  • Ivana Primorac, Ammonite
  • Nora Robertson, Rocks
  • Jill Sweeney, Misbehaviour

Best Music

  • Roque Baños, His House
  • Paul Corley, Mogul Mowgli
  • Nainita Desai, The Reason I Jump
  • Connie Farr, Emilie Levienaise-Farrouch, Rocks
  • Adam Janota Bzowski, Saint Maud

Production Design

  • Jacqueline Abrahams, His House
  • Cristina Casali, Misbehaviour
  • Peter Francis, The Father
  • Marketa Korinkova, Elo Soode, Undergods
  • Paulina Rzeszowska, Saint Maud

Best Sound

  • Adrian Bell, Glenn Freemantle, Frank Kruse, Brendan Nicholson, Richard Pryke, His House
  • Paul Davies, Saint Maud
  • Paul Davies, Robert Farr, Nigel Albermaniche, Ian Morgan, Mogul Mowgli
  • Nick Ryan, Ben Baird, Sara De Oliveira Lima, The Reason I Jump
  • Calum Sample, Host


Image courtesy of British Independent Film Awards/YouTube Screenshot

Micky is a news site and does not provide trading, investing, or other financial advice. By using this website, you affirm that you have read and agree to abide by our Terms and Conditions.
Micky readers - you can get a 10% discount on trading fees on FTX and Binance when you sign up using the links above.