All there is to know about ‘Marvel’s Avengers’

All there is to know about 'Marvel's Avengers'

Marvel’s Avengers is shaping up to be a great time for single player and multiplayer fans alike.

Announced back in January 2017, Marvel’s Avengers is an upcoming third-person action-adventure game that incorporates various RPG elements. It is currently being co-developed by Crystal Dynamics and Eidos Montréal, both of which were acquired by Square Enix.

Even though it’s based off on characters from Marvel Comics, Marvel Avenger’s will feature an all-original storyline written exclusively for the video game.

The Story

The story starts off with the unveiling of a second Avengers tower located in San Francisco, as well as a new “helicarrier” powered by what is known as a Terrigen Crystal – a crystal that pops up frequently in Marvel’s Inhumans comics.

Five of the Avengers’ founding members attend the celebration – Captain America, Iron Man, Bruce Banner, Thor, and Black Widow.

Things take a turn for the worse when the supervillain Taskmaster leads an assault that causes an explosion leaving most of San Francisco leveled and Captain America dead.

After being blamed for the debacle by the government and the public, the Avengers are forced to disband and the day goes down in history as A-Day.

[arve url=”″ /]

Fast-forward five years into the future, San Francisco has been completely rebuilt under the control of Advanced Idea Mechanics (AIM) – a scientific organization that succeeded in replacing super-humans with their advanced Artificial Intelligence which would eventually lead to the branding of superheroes as criminals.

Under AIM’s guise of bettering mankind, however, lies a sinister conspiracy against superheroes which Avengers fangirl and fledgling superhero Kamala Khan pieces together.

The fate of the world now rests on her shoulders as she sets off on a mission to reassemble the Earth’s Mightiest Heroes – The Avengers.

Gameplay mechanics

There are two types of missions that players can choose from at the War Table (the game’s mission select screen), Hero missions and Warzone missions.

Hero missions are hero-specific single-player only missions, while Warzone missions can either be played solo or cooperatively online with three more players. Both types of missions usher along the game’s story-line.

Marvel’s Avengers will feature multiple customization options such as various costumes for each of the heroes spanning 80 years of Marvel history. Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem like players will be able to personalize the outfits which is a shame.

Players will also be able to equip their chosen heroes with different types of gear that improve their stats. Said gear can be upgraded by unlocking Perks such as a chance to emit an Area of Effect stun every time your hero takes damage.

As players progress through the game, their heroes will accumulate experience points that can be used to unlock unique skills and abilities. This adds depth to the game by allowing gamers to customize their favorite hero’s skill tree in a way that best suits their play-style.

The heroes

There will be six heroes to choose from at launch: Captain America (Steve Rogers), Iron Man (Tony Stark), Black Widow (Natasha Romanova), Hulk (Bruce Banner), Ms. Marvel (Kamala Khan), and Thor.

Rumors have been circulating that Black Panther, Ant-Man, and Hawkeye are set to appear in the game, though they might not be playable characters.

Marvel’s Avengers is slated for release on September 4, 2020, for Stadia, PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One.

Image courtesy of Marvel’s Avengers/Twitter

Micky is a news site and does not provide trading, investing, or other financial advice. By using this website, you affirm that you have read and agree to abide by our Terms and Conditions.
Micky readers - you can get a 10% discount on trading fees on FTX and Binance when you sign up using the links above.