Categories: Entertainment

Kate Middleton received ‘remarkable’ honor from Queen Elizabeth


Queen Elizabeth marked Kate Middleton and Prince William’s eighth wedding anniversary in a “remarkable” way.

Kate Middleton became an official member of the British Royal Family in 2011. She tied the knot with Prince William after almost a decade of dating.

Following the wedding, she automatically received the Duchess of Cambridge title. As noted, the Queen gifted the eldest Wales Prince a Dukedom. Eight years later, she gave her granddaughter-in-law a “remarkable” honor, according to the Daily Express.

Kate Middleton received the “highest rank” of the Royal Victorian Order

In celebration of their nine years of marriage, Queen Elizabeth granted Kate Middleton the honorary title of “Dame Grand Cross” of the Royal Victorian Order. Reports said that the monarch personally gives the honor to “recognize” outstanding service.

But, Vanity Fair explained that the Queen’s gift to the Duchess of Cambridge was much more “personal.” Aside from giving it to mark their eighth wedding anniversary, this also showed how the monarch supports them as a couple.

Reports then revealed that there are five levels of the Royal Victorian Order. The highest of all is the Knight or Dame Grand Cross, then Knight or Dame Commander follows. The remaining levels are Commander, Lieutenant, and Member.

To reflect their status within the order, the medal holders receive different “sashes” and “vestments.” But, this does not necessarily entail becoming a full-fledged member.

She joined other British Royals in the honor

When Kate Middleton received the honorary title, she joined the ranks of other members of the British Royal Family within the order. As recalled, British Royals like Princess Anne, Prince Philip, and Camilla, the Duchess of Cornwall also received the same honor from the Queen in previous years.

Queen Elizabeth made the Princess Royal a Dame Grand Cross in 2007. She also holds the Grand Master position as her mother appointed her during the same year.

Sophie, the Countess of Wessex, received the same honorary title in 2010. As for Camilla, the Duchess of Cornwall, the British Monarch gave her the title in 2012 to mark her seventh wedding anniversary to Prince Charles.

Aside from the female British Royals, Kate Middleton also joined Prince Andrew and Prince Edward in the ranks. Both of the Queen’s sons received the Knight Grand Cross of the Royal Victorian Order in 2011. Meanwhile, Prince Philip received his in 2017, which is the same year he retired from his public duties.

Featured image courtesy of MsMojo/YouTube

Mike Pantoja-Contreras

Published by
Mike Pantoja-Contreras

Recent Posts

Ubisoft is changing their strategy to focus on more high-end ‘Free To Play’ games

Ubisoft says that the firm will not wait for 3-AAA games to be dropped every…

8 mins ago

‘Resident Evil Village’ fails to turn horror narrative into blockbuster

Should the successful launch of 'Resident Evil Village' make you worry about the future of…

11 mins ago

Is DLC confirmed for ‘Resident Evil Village?’: Future Village content explained

DLC is always an inevitable journey for all video game enthusiasts. Having a DLC for…

16 mins ago