Major League Baseball announces 60-game schedule for 2020

Major League Baseball announces 60-game schedule for 2020

Major League Baseball (MLB) has formally announced the full schedule for the 2020 regular season, which will officially start on July 23.

The 2020 regular season schedule will see each participating baseball club complete a total of 60 games, the breakdown of which includes 40 games against other teams from the same division (ten each), as well as 20 games versus those from the opposite league’s corresponding geographical division, i.e. Central against Central, East against East, West against West.

MLB posted the announcement through its official website, while also taking the opportunity to share the news through its official Twitter page.

Shortened 60-game schedule

As mentioned earlier, MLB’s full game schedule for this year will feature 60 games to be played by each baseball team.

Of course, the decision to shorten 2020’s schedule was made in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, which continues to significantly impact the daily lives of Americans, not to mention the schedules of every major sports league in the country, including the National Basketball Association (NBA) and the National Football League (NFL).

As noted by the news article posted on MLB’s website, the 60-game schedule has been intentionally designed to emphasize geographical proximity.

This meant that baseball teams on the road won’t have to travel as much nor as far as compared to previous seasons.

What to expect on Opening Night

Opening Night will happen less than three weeks from now and will feature two games broadcast live on ESPN.

At 7 P.M. ET on July 23, the reigning World Series champions, the Washington Nationals, will host the New York Yankees.

The second game that evening will start at 10 P.M. ET, with the Los Angeles Dodgers hosting the San Francisco Giants.

The day after July 23 promises even MLB action. July 24’s Opening Day, brought to baseball fans by T-Mobile and Mastercard, will deliver no less than 14 games.

Then on Saturday, July 25, America’s biggest baseball competition will be going full steam ahead with a total of 15 games.

Revised season format

The 40 divisional season games mentioned earlier will consist of 20 home games, as well as 20 road games.

MLB 2020 season schedule

Teams will play ten games versus each opponent, split between three series. Each matchup will have either one club complete seven home games and three road games, or play six home games and then four road games.

As for the 20 interleague games, they will be broken down into 10 home games and 10 road games. Half a dozen games will be played versus the team’s natural interleague counterpart, with three at home and three on the road. Four games apiece will be played versus two other opponents in the corresponding division, with two at home and two on the road.

Images 1 & 2 courtesy of Major League Baseball Official Website

Micky is a news site and does not provide trading, investing, or other financial advice. By using this website, you affirm that you have read and agree to abide by our Terms and Conditions.
Micky readers - you can get a 10% discount on trading fees on FTX and Binance when you sign up using the links above.