Categories: Gaming

‘Marvel’s Avengers’ War Zone explained


Marvel’s Avengers comes with more than just some of the biggest names in comic book history, as the game’s features are worth the look as well. War Zone is one of the upcoming features, and it’s a unique part of the game itself.

The recent Marvel’s Avengers War Table stream showcased a lot of new detail gameplay and story-wise. War Zone was also announced during the stream, and we’ve got our first glimpse of what this feature is. Here’s everything we know about it.

War Zone explained

The War Zone mode in the game is a co-op mode, but it is not necessarily a full multiplayer mode. In War Zone mode, players cooperate with others in PvE battle to finish a certain mission whereas, in multiplayer, players will compete against one another.

Marvel’s Avengers War Zones Mode

This is a co-op mode and not a full multiplayer mode. Co-op is when you play with friends in a PvE battle to complete a common goal. Multiplayer, on the other hand, is when you play PvP and not against a common enemy.

War Zones director Philippe Therien explains the mode as:

“The key difference between Hero Missions and War Zone Missions is that while the former tends to be story-focused and very cinematic, a War Zone is an expansive, explorable space loaded with side content including concealed caches to uncover, powerful bounty enemies to defeat, AIM depots to take over, faction allies to rescue, and hidden loot to claim.”

He adds that there will be a main objective in each War Zone mission in Marvel’s Avengers. Players can choose how they go about this mission, depending on the hero they are using and what kind of playstyle they prefer. Of course, cooperation is the key to this game mode.

Customization and more detailed

Each of the War Zone mission has its own difficulty and suggested power level. Players can adjust the difficulty manually, but of course, the higher the risk, the bigger the reward for players.

There will be six War Zone mission types; Iconic, Faction, Drop Zones, Vaults, Hives, and Villains sector. Each of these has its own objectives.

As players progress with the missions, they’ll be able to get rewards that can be used to upgrade their gear and even change the appearance of the hero of their choice.

Marvel’s Avengers launches for the PlayStation 4 on September 4. There may be more features we’ve yet to see, and future War Tables may showcase these.

Image used courtesy of Marvel Entertainment/YouTube

Jonas Sunico

Published by
Jonas Sunico

Recent Posts

Aussies will receive the second tranche of Economic Support Payments

It is very common practice today that countries are trying to soften the economic misery…

22 hours ago

WhatsApp desktop app gets support for audio, video calls

Finally, the WhatsApp desktop version for Mac and PCs has received the much-awaited support of…

22 hours ago

The UK begins investigation into the App Store policies of Apple

Apple will go through an investigation by UK's regulator following allegations of using anti-competitive policies…

22 hours ago