Supergiant’s ‘Hades’ wins Game of the Year from GDC 2021


Supergiant’s Hades has won Game of the Year from this year’s Game Developers Conference, with Umurangi Generation winning the IGF Grand Prize.

In the all-digital GDC 2021, devs have spoken on what they believe to be Game of the Year. That award went to Supergiant’s Hades, their roguelike action dungeon crawler title. The game was deserving of this accolade, together with other winners too.

In addition, Umurangi Generation won the Grand Prize at the Independent Games Festival (IGF). The entire game, known for its innovative gameplay and storytelling, deserves the win.

Supergiant Games win three awards

The 2021 GDC showed off much their awards on Twitch, with Hades winning big this year. Apart from the GOTY win, they also got Best Audio and Best Design for the game. Their Greek mythology roguelike visual novel won a ton over the past year.

Hades has already racked up two trophies from the Golden Joystick Awards. Furthermore, they also won five BAFTAs, a couple from Gayming Awards and The Game Awards, and five from the DICE Awards. They even won the best writing award from Nebula.

Among the best wins, Asobo won the Best Technology Award for Microsoft Flight Simulator. Furthermore, other winners include:

Best Debut:
Phasmophobia (Kinetic Games)
Best Mobile Game:
Genshin Impact (miHoYo)
Best Visual Art:
Ghost of Tsushima (Sucker Punch Production /Sony Interactive Entertainment)
Best Audio:
Hades (Supergiant Games)
Best Design:
Hades (Supergiant Games)
Innovation Award:
Dreams (Media Molecule/Sony Interactive Entertainment)
Best Narrative:
The Last of Us Part 2 (Naughty Dog/Sony Interactive Entertainment)
Best Technology:
Microsoft Flight Simulator (Asobo Studio/Xbox Game Studios)
Best VR/AR Game:
Half-Life: Alyx (Valve)
Audience Award:
Ghost of Tsushima (Sucker Punch Productions/Sony Interactive Entertainment)
Game of the Year:
Hades (Supergiant Games)
Pioneer Award:
Tom Fulp
Lifetime Achievement Award:
Laralyn McWilliams

Cyberpunk photography game wins IGF Grand Prize

Following the event, Supergiant’s Hades was not the only big winner. The IGF Awards, directed to indie titles, had cyberpunk photography sim Umurangi Generation winning big.

Umurangi studio Origame Digital won not only Excellence in Narrative but also the Seumas McNally Grand Prize. Other winners include:

Excellence in Design:
Teardown (Tuxedo Labs)
Excellence in Narrative:
Umurangi Generation (Origame Digital/Playism)
Excellence in Visual Art:
Genesis Noir (Feral Cat Den)
Excellence in Audio:
Genesis Noir (Feral Cat Den)
Audience Award:
Arrog (Hermanos Magia and Leap Game Studios)
Best Student Game:
Vessels (Local Space Survey Corps, LLC)
Nuovo Award:
Blaseball (The Game Band)
Seumas McNally Grand Prize:
Umurangi Generation (Origame Digital/Playism)

There’s no contention on why Supergiant’s Hades or Umurangi Generation won this year. Not only is their narrative excellence enjoyable, the games are also among the most innovative in a stacked pile of nominees.

Featured image courtesy of Supergiant Games/Youtube Screenshot

Micky is a news site and does not provide trading, investing, or other financial advice. By using this website, you affirm that you have read and agree to abide by our Terms and Conditions.
Micky readers - you can get a 10% discount on trading fees on FTX and Binance when you sign up using the links above.