‘Valorant’ ranked system explained

Valorant continues to grow each week, and it’s shaping up to be an exciting shooter even before it’s just in its early stages. The most recent addition to the game is a ranked system that works differently against what gamers are used to.

Now that competitive mode is finally available in Valorantplayers now have the chance to partake in intense and exciting matches against those looking for glory as well. To unlock the new mode, players will simply need to complete a total of 20 unranked matches. Here’s everything we know about the ranking system in Riot Games’ shooter.

Ranking system explained

In other games, a player’s rank goes up and down based solely on whether or not they win. However, as Riot Games explains, it’s not just the result of the match that is important. According to the developers, performing well will also affect a player’s rank.

This means whether a player loses or wins, their rank can still go up so long as they contribute a lot to the team. This means kills, assists, deaths, bomb placements, and diffusals could affect a player’s rank significantly. It might be a complicated ranking system for now, but Riot Games does note that wins and losses will still be an essential factor.

With the way the ranking system works, the game can combat a myriad of multiplayer issues such as smurf accounts, trolling, and rank boosting.

Placement matches

Aside from the required 20 unranked matches, players will also need to complete placement matches before they get their rank. Players will have to complete a total of five matches in the game. Their first rank will be based on their performance in these matches.

Rank tiers

There are eight ranks in the game: Iron, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Platinum, Immortal, and Valorant. Up until the last rank, players will have a total of three tiers per rank as well. In total, there are a total of 22 ranks in the game.

As with other competitive modes, it’s likely that players will receive a reward at the end of the season, depending on what their rank is.

The ranked system in Valorant is now out, and players can start rising through the rest. However, players should keep in mind that their rank in the closed beta will not carry over to the full game, but this could be an excellent opportunity to practice the ins and outs of the game.


Image used courtesy of Riot Games/YouTube

Micky is a news site and does not provide trading, investing, or other financial advice. By using this website, you affirm that you have read and agree to abide by our Terms and Conditions.
Micky readers - you can get a 10% discount on trading fees on FTX and Binance when you sign up using the links above.